Like our Facebook Page

Early Times Newspaper Jammu, Leading Newspaper Jammu
Breaking News :   BJP eyes hat-trick as Congress mounts challenge in Udhampur, Jammu | Campaigning ends for Udhampur seat, straight contest on cards | BJP likely to support proxy candidates in Kashmir: Omar | Azad won’t contest from Anantnag-Rajouri seat | Kashmiri Pandits take out Shoba Yatra in Srinagar | Those who opposed Lord Ram faced downfall: Rajnath | 3 Tiffin IEDs recovered | MeT predicts rain, snow over next 2 days | Non-local shot dead in Bijbehara | Police attach property of woman drug peddler | Aspirants demand postponement of examination of assistant director(E&S) to be conducted | Dharmarth Trust celebrates Ram Navmi with religious fervour across J&K | NSF urges to support BJP, highlights Govt Aid Programs | J&K at threshold of mega development under PM Modi's leadership: Slathia | Mehbooba pledges persistent struggle, seeks public support for amplified voice | NC, Cong cutting votes of DPAP not BJP; Azad | LS election: Vote to protect land, jobs, future of youth: Mehbooba Mufti | Fodder camp set up amid water, food shortage for cattle in Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar | Every vote to BJP candidate will strengthen PM Modi for making 'Viksit Bharat': Khatana | Notebooks, stationery items distributed among students | Insha Majeed declared qualified for award of PhD | Drive to clean river Tawi by green warriors of GDC Vijaypur | Bengal on high alert over Ram Navami processions; Ayodhya set for Ram Lalla 'Surya Tilak' | 10 killed in accident along Ahmedabad-Vadodara Highway | 'Virat Kohli Mentality': What former RBI Governor Raghuram Rajan said on Young India | Samba police reunites missing person with family | Bovine smuggler arrested, 48 bovines rescued by Samba police | DGP extends warm greetings on Rama Navmi | DPS Kathua NCC Cadets Shine Bright with NCC A Certificate Qualifications | Back Issues  
news details
Sajad Lone to contest from Baramulla seat to foil NC’s game plan
Lok Sabha Polls
2/26/2024 10:49:01 PM
Ealry Times Report

Jammu, Feb 26: While the constituents of the INDIA bloc have yet to arrive at a consensus on seat sharing, the Peoples Conference on Monday announced the nomination of Sajad Lone from the Baramulla seat. BJP has announced support for Muzaffar Hussain Beigh, who is mulling contesting the election as an Independent candidate on this seat.
The announcement of Sajad Gani Lone as a candidate of the party for the Baramulla Parliamentary seat has made elections on this segment very interesting because the BJP has already declared to support veteran politician Muzaffar Hussain Beigh on this seat of north Kashmir.
General Secretary of the Peoples’ Conference and former minister Imran Reza Ansari announced the candidature of party chief Sajad Lone on the Baramulla Lok Sabha seat.
“For the Baramulla Parliamentary seat, the leadership and the rank and file of the party has overwhelmingly endorsed the candidature of our party president Sajad Gani Lone”, Ansari said.
He further said that Sajad Lone has acceded to the demand of the party. He will be the candidate of the party from Baramulla Parliamentary seat.
The BJP has announced to support Muzaffar Hussain Beigh if he chooses to contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections as an independent candidate from the Baramulla Parliamentary constituency.
Beigh, who had rejoined the PDP on January 7, announced on January 20 that he was not associated with the PDP.
Beigh, co-founder of the PDP and former Chief Minister of the erstwhile state of J&K, made this announcement after attending Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s rally at Jammu on February 20.
The National Conference, one of the constituents of the INDIA bloc, already announced not to
The announcement of Sajad Gani Lone as PC candidate will make elections very interest ing.
BJP has reportedly decided to support Muzaffar Hussain Beigh on Baramulla seat.
Beigh on January 20 announced that he was not associated with the PDP.
The NC, one of the constituents of the INDIA bloc, has already announced that it won't leave any seats in Kashmir.
leave any of Kashmir Valley’s three seats for coalition partners.
Former Chief Minister Omar Abdullah has repeatedly declared that discussions of seat-sharing would be held only on two Lok Sabha seats of Jammu province and the lone Parliamentary constituency of Ladakh.
In the 2019 Parliamentary election, Baramulla constituency witnessed a triangular contest between the National Conference, Peoples Conference, and Independent candidate Engineer Rashid.
National Conference Akbar Lone emerged as a winner with 1,33,426 votes, and Peoples’ Conference Raja Aijaz Ali stood second with 102327 votes. The independent candidate Engineer Rashid, polled 101500 votes. The PDP candidate Qayoom Wani polled 53191 votes. Congress candidate Haji Farooq Ahmad Mir secured fifth place with 34,532 votes.
Ansari announced that the Peoples’ Conference would not fight in the Jammu region and would not be instrumental in wasting or diverting a single vote through vote division.
“Our position about the other two seats in the Kashmir region will become clear in the coming week or at the most two weeks”, he said.
“We will take a call about other seats based on our limited resources and also how best to defeat the common enemy of the people of J& K”, he said, adding, “Apart from Baramulla, we will fight only where we believe we can win on our own and either seek support or give support respectively to any party best suited to defeat the biggest enemy of the people of J&K”.
We will not fight in the Jammu region and will not be instrumental in wasting or diverting a single vote through vote division.
Our position about other two seats in the Kashmir region will become clear in the coming week or at the most two weeks.
  Share This News with Your Friends on Social Network  
  Comment on this Story  
Early Times Android App
BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty
Home About Us Top Stories Local News National News Sports News Opinion Editorial ET Cetra Advertise with Us ET E-paper
J&K Govt. Official website
Jammu Kashmir Tourism
Mata Vaishnodevi Shrine Board
Shri Amarnath Ji Shrine Board
Shri Shiv Khori Shrine Board
Train Enquiry
Jammu Kashmir Bank
State Bank of India
Passport Department
Income Tax Department
IT Education
Web Site Design Services
Jammu University
Jammu University Results
Kashmir University
IGNOU Jammu Center