Like our Facebook Page

Early Times Newspaper Jammu, Leading Newspaper Jammu
Breaking News :   On Republic Day order, Omar Abdullah, Mehbooba Mufti spar on Twitter | Advisor Kumar assures thorough enquiry, advises to follow SOPs in referral cases | NIA probe reveals vehicle of Lawmaker Aijaz Mir used to carry out Attack on Amarnath pilgrims | Navin Choudhary chairs JKIDC's BoD meeting | Chuni warns of extreme steps if Govt takes no action on their demands | SMVDU Researcher, DST Inspire Fellow Presents Paper in International Conference | Upgraded Botany Lab today at GDC Udhampur inaugurated | All India Jat Maha Sabha delegation meets Governor | Advisor Khushid Ganie & Renzushah inaugurate Kashmir cultural theatre programme | JDBBA Udhampur holds Body Building Championship | Chairman and CEO J&K Bank condoles the Demise of Branch Manager | BIS Jammu releases 'School Newsletter' | What is Army's Religious Teacher posted in Kashmir doing in Jammu? | PWD, PMGSY siphon off crores meant for blacktopping of roads | Ram Madhav's 'concern' on Bukhari's expulsion triggers rumors | SSP facilitates drug peddling in lieu of money | Thupstan Chhewang not to rejoin BJP | Pending enquiries gathering dust; ULBK fails to bring in transparency | 3 years on, no progress on proposal for setting up Medical Universities | Uri film a fitting tribute to the Indian Army | Mehbooba trying to 'demonize' Dogras | Manhas reviews functioning of CVPP | 92.7 Big FM relaunches, repositions itself with Top 100 Chartbusters | Affix seal, signatures on patient referrals: Health department tells doctors | Aam Aadmi Party is the only solution for all evils in the state: MPEJ | Make street lights fully functional in Jammu city': Advisor Sharma | PDP facing internal challenges | Supreme Court must declare Article 35A unconstitutional for 8 reasons | BJP's Election eve bonanzas | 4 flights cancelled, 11 delayed due to bad weather in Kashmir | Decision to rotate assembly seats leaves candidates guessing | Three HM militants killed in encounter at Hapatnar Chrar-i-Sharif | Appointment of 'Junior officer' as MD SICOP raises eyebrows | PDP becomes a two way street! | Srinagar's Deputy Mayor sustains injuries after being attacked by two BJP backed councilors | Penalty of Rs 2000 imposed on tainted Lab Tech in Chadoora block, not transferred yet | ECI directs J&K Govt to transfers officers out of home Districts | After extending mere lip service, all parties again eyeing Ladakh | Forest team's report nails local Tehsildar | Cops mismanage traffic near bus stand Mendhar | ACB produced challan against the then Divisional Manager, SFC | Bail denied to Patwari in POSCO | Challan produced against then Divisional Manager SFC | SC allows JKPSC to carry KAS selection process | Heavy snowfall shuts Jammu-Srinagar Highway | Admin setup panel for implementation of saturation of toilets, water, electricity in Govt schools | Ahead of Republic day security beefed up | PHE ITI Trained CP and Land Doner worker association to hold Maha rally | NHM employees continue protest on day 8 | Forest employees protest enters day 5, demand implementation of agreement | Rashtriya Sainik Sanstha demand gallantry award for Neta Subhash Chandra Bose | Power crisis in Poonch, authorities in Slumber | Jammu traders' delegation submit charter of demands to Advisor | AJKPA held meeting seeks pending demand | J&K police pensioners hold protest, project demands | Meeting of shopkeepers held, highlights issues | Jammu Ropeway tragedy is outcome of corrupt agenda of BJP-PDP Govt: AAP | Plus 2 Lecturers express concern over various issues | Inter-state smuggler held with 570 kgs poppy straw | Court denies bail to alleged narco smuggler | Congress Sewa Dal holds meeting | Selection process of Class-IV posts in District Udhampur vitiated: Harsh | Back Issues  
news details
BJP, Congress share honours in Rajouri MCs
10/20/2018 10:28:57 PM
Early Times Report

Rajouri, Oct 20: Out of five Municipal Committees (MCs) in Rajouri district Congress emerged winner in two while in two MCs BJP is going to have its chairmen and in one i.e Kalakot BJP has been wiped out and independents (supported by NC) will have a chairman from among them.
According to official details out of 63 wards for 5 Municipal committees in Rajouri district people have elected 23 candidates from BJP, 20 from Congress and have voted in favour of 20 independent candidates (maximum among them were supported either by NC or by PDP).
No BJP candidate emerged winner for Kalakot Municipality despite the Constituency was represented by Abdul Ghani Kohli, MLA (BJP) & former cabinet Minister.
"Discriminate attitude of the MLA towards a section of society was the major reason that people voted against BJP" said a local.
Out of 7 wards Congress won only one seat while 6 seats were won by independent candidates (supported by NC).
In 2010 ULB elections BJP had ruled the Rajouri Municipality but in 2018 out of 17 wards Congress has won 7 seats while 6 seats were won by BJP candidates and 4 by Independent candidates.
Out of 4 Independents one is being supported by Congress and out of remaining 3 Congress can easily get support of required one candidate to lead the Municipal Committee.
For 13 wards of Thanamandi MC,25 candidates were in fray and 3 were declared unopposed while for Sunderbani MC, 30 candidates had filed their nominations.
In Sunderbani Congress candidates have lost all the seats and out of 13 wards BJP has won 10 and Independents 3.
For Nowshera Municipal Committee(MC) out of 13 wards BJP emerged winner in seven , Congress and Independents in 3 each while out of 13 wards for Muslim dominated Thanamandi municipality Congress won 9 seats and Independents emerged winner in four wards. For 17 wards of Rajouri MC, 58 candidates were in fray, for 7 wards of Kakalkot MC , 24 four candidates were in fray while for 13 wards of Nowshera MC, 41 candidates were trying their luck and one seat was declared un opposed.
244 employees were deployed by the district election authorities at 61 polling stations for smooth & peaceful polling.
  Share This News with Your Friends on Social Network  
  Comment on this Story  
Early Times Android App
BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty
Home About Us Top Stories Local News National News Sports News Opinion Editorial ET Cetra Advertise with Us ET E-paper
J&K Govt. Official website
Jammu Kashmir Tourism
Mata Vaishnodevi Shrine Board
Shri Amarnath Ji Shrine Board
Shri Shiv Khori Shrine Board
Train Enquiry
Jammu Kashmir Bank
State Bank of India
Passport Department
Income Tax Department
IT Education
Web Site Design Services
Jammu University
Jammu University Results
Kashmir University
IGNOU Jammu Center