Like our Facebook Page

Early Times Newspaper Jammu, Leading Newspaper Jammu
Breaking News :   Restrictions lifted from 35 police stations across valley: Govt | Soldier martyred in Pak firing along LoC in Rajouri | Restrictions lifted from 35 Police Stations across Valley: Govt | Supreme Court extends admission deadline for Jammu-Kashmir PM Scholarship students | Landline services in 17 exchanges of Kashmir restored | High alert in Punjab after heavy rain forecast, IMD issues warning for Himachal | China-Pakistan attempt to rake up Kashmir at UNSC falls flat | AK-47 rifle, bullets seized during raid on Bihar's Mokama MLA Anant Singh's residence | Impact of scrapping 370: Disintegration of Pakistan begins, Balochistan celebrates India's I-Day | Rape accused's gang warns senior PDP leaders against hoisting national flag at party office | Identity not tampered with, Governor Satya Pal Malik assures locals | Panchayat Dharap residents desire adequate civic amenities | Will distribute my salary among needy' | Shah Faesal shifted to makeshift detention centre at Centaur Hotel | Independence Day function at Srinagar was unique this year | SC to hear petitions against Article 370 | Ladakh a land of all religions: Ram Madhav urges people not to heed rumours | Indian Army guns down 3 Pak soldiers during ceasefire violation along LoC in Poonch | J&K celebrates "Incident-Free" Independence Day: Top Bureaucrat | Governor hosts Independence Day 'At Home' | Amarnath Yatra concludes with subdued ceremony | Article 370 degraded our culture, language: Ladakh MP Jamyang Namgyal | Geology and Mining deptt plans to auction already disappearing Ravi River | Back Issues  
news details
LS Polls: Top leaders of all parties give Ladakh a miss
4/21/2019 10:20:54 PM
Ishtiyaq Ahmad
Early Times Report
Srinagar, Apr 21: As seven candidates are in the fray for the Ladakh Lok Sabha constituency, the fate of politically polarized constituency has been left by the political parties to local politicians as top leadership of all the parties have remained absent from the scene.
Seven candidates are in the fray for the Ladakh Lok Sabha constituency. The last date for withdrawal of names is April 22 in the constituency that is going to the polls on May 6. Besides candidates of the Congress and the BJP, five independents are also in the fray now. The Bharatiya Janata Party has announced 31-year-old Jamyang Tsering Namgyal as its candidate for Ladakh Lok Sabha constituency.
The young leader, who serving as the current chief executive councillor (CEC) of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC), remained private secretary to the former BJP MP and renowned Buddhist spiritual leader, Thupstan Chhewang. While the Congress has given ticket to Rigzin Saplbar, a prominent Buddhist leader and a former CEC of the Ladakh council.
However, top leaders of all leaders have given a miss to Ladkah region. No senior leader of any party has address any election rally there.
Senior BJP and Congress leaders have held election rallies in Jammu and Kashmir regions. However, none of senior party leaders have visited the Ladakh so far.
"It seems political parties are not concerned about addressing our local issues," said Mohammad Hussan, a resident of Kargil.
These parties did not even mention about Ladakh in their rallies or in their manifestos," he said.
Jammu and Kashmir Government earlier this year approved creation of a separate administrative and revenue division for Ladakh. This division will comprise Leh and Kargil districts with its headquarters at Leh.
The Government has also approved creation of the posts of divisional commissioner (Ladakh), Leh and Inspector General of Police (Ladakh), Leh.
Rigzan, a resident of Leh, said that political parties have never been interested in addressing issues of Ladakh region. "All parties want to take political mileage of this region," Rigzan said.
"We have invited the senior Congress leaders for campaigning here, but they all have turned down our invitation. Now only the local leaders are trying to woo the voters," a senior Congress leader said.
"The visit of senior BJP leaders would have boosted the morale of party activists and activate the BJP cadre in the region," a BJP leader said.
Ladakh - one of the largest Lok Sabha constituencies in terms of area has witnessed a tradition of more or less alternatively electing Buddhists and Muslims as MPs for quite some time. In 1989, an Independent candidate, Mohammad Hassan Commander, became the MP from Ladakh. In 1996, P Namgyal of the Congress represented the region in the Parliament.
Fresh elections were held after the government collapsed at the Centre in 1998, and NC leader Syed Hussain was elected. In 1999, Hassan Khan won as the NC's candidate, and in 2004, Independent candidate Thupstan Chhewang was declared winner. In 2009, Hassan Khan returned to the Lok Sabha as an Independent but by 2014, Thupstan Chhewang had been elected on a BJP ticket.
  Share This News with Your Friends on Social Network  
  Comment on this Story  
Early Times Android App
BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty
Home About Us Top Stories Local News National News Sports News Opinion Editorial ET Cetra Advertise with Us ET E-paper
J&K Govt. Official website
Jammu Kashmir Tourism
Mata Vaishnodevi Shrine Board
Shri Amarnath Ji Shrine Board
Shri Shiv Khori Shrine Board
Train Enquiry
Jammu Kashmir Bank
State Bank of India
Passport Department
Income Tax Department
IT Education
Web Site Design Services
Jammu University
Jammu University Results
Kashmir University
IGNOU Jammu Center