Like our Facebook Page

Early Times Newspaper Jammu, Leading Newspaper Jammu
Breaking News :   J&K Bank implements RTI, CVC guidelines for better governance, strong accountability framework | GBMS Dedikoote lacks basic facilities | Div Com reviews availability of essentials, price stability, quality checking | FIR against Srinagar Deputy Mayor, J&K Bank, officials | DDC Jammu reviews arrangements of 'Back to the Village' | Cracks in Kishtwar BJP, Vice President's resignation accepted | Power shut down | 2 brothers from Kalai crack IIT-JEE, 2019 | Kargil to have full-fledged airport for commercial flights with AAI assistance | MHA constitutes TMG to crackdown on terrorist financers in valley | Delegation of Panchayat Co-ordination Committee Leh meets Governor | People residing in areas adjoining IB hail Centre for approving reservation bill | Jourian Cricket Club wins Knockout Tournament | MIET concludes placement season, attains 100% placements | 12 day summer camp concludes | JK youth can change their fate through sports: Advisor Kumar | Power hungry' local BJP leaders creating hurdles in delimitation move | Howzat? IPL lad Rasikh 'fudged DoB' | New cracks surface in PDP as leader from north 'ignores' party | 8 months on, hundreds of poll officials yet to get additional one month salary | Pakistan snubbed, talks and terror can't go together | Reject leaders, who ignored you: Munish to people | Will distribute my salary among needy' | 3 BoDs shoot warning letter to GM over failure to take possession of Innova-Crysta | Modi's victory has stung critics | Will 'Back to the Village' prog become a success? | Dilapidated lanes, choked drains, garbage dumps greet visitors | PoJK Sharnarthis hold meeting | Tourism Department organizes Tawi Darshan at Dudu | Sharma holds public grievance camp at Jammu | J&K Bank's governance under question mark? | Attacks on Doctors can never be justified | National Security & Criminal justice system stymied by politics? | LWWS stages play 'What is Gurantee' | Stray animals, street dogs create traffic jamming in Kishtwar, PAF demands action | Doctors boycott work today | Summer camp concludes at Zee School | Seminar on non-violence, truth, communal harmony organized | Sumo catches fire in Drabshalla, no human loss | DIS Principal attends national conference at Dehradun | Excise Deptt nabs toll evaders | Traders demand abolition of toll tax at Lakhanpur | Durga Vahini seeks justice for Aligarh minor rape, murder victim | Diwedi calls for extensive awareness about Back to Village prog | Teachers' Joint Action Committee holds meeting | PDD to observe additional curtailment in villages of Kathua | Councilors demand honorarium | People resent suspension of SRTC bus service | Kargil martyr Major Ajay Jasrotia remembered | Forces Launch CASO at pattan village | Police, army hand over youth to families held while exfiltrating LoC in north Kashmir | 4 of family drowned in Indus river in Ladakh | Police works out theft case, accused arrested | Dogri Bhasha Academy organizes Samman Samaroh | DLSA Jammu organises sensitization programme on safety, security of senior citizens | DPS Jammu organizes inter-house chess tournament | PDD engineers seek security | CEO SMVDSB felicitates Bhawan medical team | JDF condemns attack on doctors | MPEJ seeks PM's attention on adulteration | SAC approves transfer of land for relocation of Cattle Breeding and Research Farm Belicharana | SAC accords in-principle approval to ' Comprehensive Jhelum-II Plan for Flood Management Works' costing Rs 5400 Crore | SAC approves grant of 'Special Pay' in favour of employees of J&K High Court | SAC approves re-organization of Advocate General's Office/Civil Litigation Wing of Government | JMC conducts solid waste Management awareness | Jammu Motors launches Bajaj Dominar | JKFFA pays tributes to Brig Rajinder Singh | Back Issues  
news details
Akbar Lone of NC wins Baramulla LS seat by 31,000 votes
5/23/2019 10:39:28 PM
S Tahir-ul Haq
Early Times Report
BARAMULLA, May 23: Senior National Conference leader and former speaker, Mohammad Akbar lone won the Baramulla-1 Parliamentary Constituency with a margin of around 31,000 while as he was followed by the former IGP and senior leader of JKPC, Raja Aijaz Ali with 101378 and they were trailed by a former legislator from Langate Constituency and Independent Candidate, Er Rashid by 99591 votes.
There were total 457931 out of which Jahangir Khan of JKNPP got 4142, Qayoom Wani of PDP begged 52382, Haji Farooq of JKINC got 33990, Mohammad Akbar Lone of JKNC got 131333 votes, Mohammad Maqbool Lone of BJP got 5425 votes, Raja Aijaz Ali of JKPC got 101378, Javid Qureshi (Independent) got 3283 votes, Syed Najeeb Naqvi (Independent) got 4888 votes, and Engineer Rashid got 99591votes, till the last reports of counting came.
However there were total fourteen candidates out of whom 4 nominations were rejected and one had withdrawn his candidature while as 9 candidates were in fray for the Baramulla Parliamentary Constituency, including Haji Farooq Ahmad Mir of INC, Mohammad Maqbool War of BJP, Jahangir Khan of J&KNPP, Abdul Qayoom Wani of J&KPDP, Mohammad Akbar Lone of J&KNC, Raja Aijaz Ali of J&KPC and independents namely Javid Ahmad Qureshi, Syed Najeeb Shah Naqvi and Engineer Sheikh Abdul Rashid.
There are total fifteen assembly segments for Baramulla-1 Parliamentary Constituency including Karnah, Kupwara, Lolab, Handwara, Langate, of Kupwara district, Sangrama, Baramulla, Gulmarag, Pattan, Uri, Rafiabad, Sopore of Baramulla district Sonawari, Bandipora and Gurez of Bandipora district.
In the first phase of elections, the polling for Baramulla constituency was held on April 11, from 7 am to 6 pm. There were total 13, 08,541 electors, 6, 74,417 males, 6, 34,083 females and 41 transgender. The constituency has 7953 Persons with Disability (PwD) voters and 157 marked as VVIP (Voter Verification and Information Programme) electors.
Baramulla District has 6, 36,459 electors including 3, 27,933 males, 308512 females, 14 transgender, 3484 (PwD) and 116 (VVIP marked electors). As many as 859 polling stations were established at 692 locations.
Similarly Kupwara has 4, 38,285 electors including, 2, 25,259 males, 2, 13,016 females and 10 transgender. These include 1896 (PwD) and 19 VVIP marked voters, who were supposed to cast their votes at 578 polling stations set up at 484 locations.
While as Bandipora district has 2, 33,797 electors- 1, 21,225 males, 1, 12,555 females, 17 transgender, 2573 (PwD) and 22 VVIP marked electors. The authorities had set up 312 polling stations at 211 locations in the district.
The Election Commission of India (ECI) had issued a notification on March 18 for general election to Baramulla parliamentary constituency that comprises of Baramulla-Banipora and Kupwara constituencies
However the last date of filling of nomination was fixed on Mar 25, while as scrutiny of papers was on Mar 26, and last date of withdrawal of candidature was Mar 28.
  Share This News with Your Friends on Social Network  
  Comment on this Story  
Early Times Android App
BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty
Home About Us Top Stories Local News National News Sports News Opinion Editorial ET Cetra Advertise with Us ET E-paper
J&K Govt. Official website
Jammu Kashmir Tourism
Mata Vaishnodevi Shrine Board
Shri Amarnath Ji Shrine Board
Shri Shiv Khori Shrine Board
Train Enquiry
Jammu Kashmir Bank
State Bank of India
Passport Department
Income Tax Department
IT Education
Web Site Design Services
Jammu University
Jammu University Results
Kashmir University
IGNOU Jammu Center