Like our Facebook Page

Early Times Newspaper Jammu, Leading Newspaper Jammu
Breaking News :   DC Kupwara reviews arrangements for Independence Day celebrations-2024 | Arrangements for I-Day 2024 celebrations reviewed at Kulgam | Commissioner SMC attends Felicitation Ceremony of Archery Coaching Camp | DC Pulwama inspects ongoing developmental projects in Rajpora | Humanity Public School student “Geenakshi” outshines in State Wushu Women League | DDC Shopian chairs District Level Banker’s Review Committee meet | Shed paternalistic approach towards junior lawyers, pay them dignified sum: CJI | Many health facilities employing unqualified, underqualified medical staff: Delhi Medical Council | Air India announces full refund, vouchers to fliers after 30-hour delay | BJP will bring out ‘White Paper’ on Jharkhand’s demography to protect tribal lands, rights: Shah | DC Bandipora visits upper areas of Boninar Onagam | Bhagavad Gita a beacon of wisdom for navigating modern challenges, says Kavinder | OBC delegation meets Sadhotra, pitches for implementation of Mandal Commission Report | Rana led Nai Basti delegation meets LG | HC regularized four Adhoc District Judge and promotes 22 Munsiff as Sub-Judges | Mansukh oversees talent assessment camp at stadium | Nipah infection confirmed in 14-year-old boy in Kerala: Health Minister Veena George | Parents of Agniveer who died in Kashmir appeals for probe into son's death | Worries ahead for BJP’s ex-legislators, ministers as survey agencies receive ‘hopeless’ feedback | British systematically made efforts to eliminate faith from our minds: Mohan Bhagwat | Want J&K women entrepreneurs to build global brands: LG Sinha | Chief Secretary reviews progress on implementation of NCAP | NTA announces centre, city-wise results of NEET-UG | Acting CJ reviews preparations for upcoming Special Lok Adalat by SC | Army Chief reaches Jammu, reviews security situation | Martyr Captain Thapa cremated at ancestral village in Darjeeling | Col Anshu Jamwal from Jammu becomes first woman to command air defence unit | UPSC Chairman Soni resigns | Parliament’s Monsoon session begins tomorrow | Another batch of pilgrims leaves Jammu | Hit-and-Run case solved by Janipur Police | Dr Rakesh Bahl appointed Principal GMC Doda | DC Doda chairs District Level review meeting of PMEGP | HDFC Bank net profit surges 33% to Rs 16,474 crore in June quarter | ED arrests Haryana Congress MLA in mining case | DC Doda chairs District Level review meeting of PMEGP | Ramakrishna Mission Medical Centre organises free health camp | DC reviews arrangements for Shrawan Mahotsav at Shiv Khori | DLSA organises special Lok Adalat on bank cases | RSETI organizes entrepreneurship awareness program at Dharam | Udhampur police organizes free medical cum drug de-addiction awareness camp | Traffic Violators to be dealt with iron hand : ARTO | JKAACL condoles demise of Bharat Singh Manhas | RDPR Deptt conducts workshop on GPDP, MGNREGA | 228 bank recovery cases settled amicably in Special Lok Adalat | ADC discusses Independent Day arrangements | Back Issues  
news details
J&K Mountaineering Team Embarks on Journey to 27th North Zone Sport Climbing Championship
9/29/2023 9:42:17 PM
Early Times Report
JAMMU, Sept 29: A 12-member team representing the Mountaineering Association of Jammu and Kashmir (J&K) left today for Delhi to participate in the 27th North Zone Sport Climbing Championship, scheduled to be held at the Indian Mountaineering Foundation and Climb Central in Delhi from October 1st to 3rd, 2023. The team has received the endorsement of the J&K State Sports Council.
The newly constituted team, led by Shilpa Charak, the most senior sport climber from J&K, consists of 8 boys and 3 girls competing in five categories: Men, Women, Junior Boys, Sub Junior Boys, and Sub Junior Girls. While only one climber has been selected in each of the Men's and Women's categories, there are 4 climbers in the Junior Boys category, 3 in the Sub Junior Boys category, and 2 in the Sub Junior Girls category. The team's selection was based on the climbers' performance in the J&K UT Sport Climbing Championship, district competitions, and their progress during coaching camps.
The following is the list of climbers selected to represent J&K in the North Zone Championship:
Arun Deep Singh
Shilpa Charak
Sub Junior Boys:
Kafeel Ul Haq of Pulwama
Aryan Rauthan of Army Public School, Damana, Jammu.
Ankit Singh of St. Xavier Sr. Secondary School, Jammu.
Junior Boys:
Kashish Bharti of Udhamour.
Saksham Slathia of Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Jammu.
Prince Thakur of National Academy High School, Udhampur.
Sub Junior Girls:
Ayaana Bhagat of Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Jammu.
Jeevika Verma of St. Xavier Sr. Secondary School, Jammu
The team represents a combination of experienced climbers and fresh talents. While Shilpa Charak and Arun Deep bring a wealth of experience with numerous medals at the zonal and national levels, the other climbers, although talented, will be competing at the zonal level for the first time. The team is expected to perform admirably.
Shilpa Charak will serve as the coach-cum-player, while Syed Abdul Mohsin, Joint Secretary of the Kashmir division of the Mountaineering Association of J&K, will manage the team. The team's sponsorship has been provided by the J&K Sports Council.
Following the North Zone competition, a 26-member team from the Indian Mountaineering Foundation North Zone Committee will be selected to participate in the National (Inter Zonal) Climbing Championship, scheduled for the last week of October.
The team received an emotional farewell from members of the Mountaineering Association of J&K and Tawi Trekkers J&K, with Anil Goswami, former Home Secretary of India, and Ashwani Sharma, a former MLA, leading the send-off. Distinguished individuals present at the occasion included Ram Khajuria, Sr. Vice President; Sumit Khajuria, Vice President; Shawetica Khajuria, General Secretary of Mountaineering Association of J&K; Prof. C K Khajuria, Principal, Govt Degree College, Katra; Rakesh Goswami, President, Jammu District Mountaineering Association; Anukampa Sharma, General Secretary Udhampur District Mountaineering Association; the Vice Principal of St. Xavier Sr. Sec. School, Barnai, Mridhu Padha; the Principal of National Academy High School, Udhampur, and Seema Kharyal, a senior member of Tawi Trekkers J&K.
  Share This News with Your Friends on Social Network  
  Comment on this Story  
Early Times Android App
BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty
Home About Us Top Stories Local News National News Sports News Opinion Editorial ET Cetra Advertise with Us ET E-paper
J&K Govt. Official website
Jammu Kashmir Tourism
Mata Vaishnodevi Shrine Board
Shri Amarnath Ji Shrine Board
Shri Shiv Khori Shrine Board
Train Enquiry
Jammu Kashmir Bank
State Bank of India
Passport Department
Income Tax Department
IT Education
Web Site Design Services
Jammu University
Jammu University Results
Kashmir University
IGNOU Jammu Center