Like our Facebook Page

Early Times Newspaper Jammu, Leading Newspaper Jammu
Breaking News :   SIA files supplementary chargesheet against politician -turned-LeT terrorist | Amit Shah wraps up Kashmir visit, returns to Delhi | PoJK was, is and will remain ours: Rajnath Singh | Char Dham Yatra: Police warn pilgrims against fraudulent registrations | Army committed to contribute towards nation’s growth: Gen Pande | ACB files case against ex-tehsildar, patwari, others | IMD forecasts heat wave for next 5-days | Weather to remain dry in J&K: MeT | I&C Deptt gets new administrators | ‘Don’t leave offices before 2 pm’ | 409 policemen detached | Mahabharat weaves magic once again on DD National | NC is Congress child to victimise non-Kashmiri Muslims: Khatana | GMC Doda organises Conference on Core Orthopaedics | GDC Purmandal Bids Farewell to Final Semester Students | Training on Paddy crop management held by KVK Kishtwar under FLDs | JK Montessorie Senior Secondary School Hosts Enthusiastic Mother’s Day Competition | Civil Defence Jammu concluded 5 days training programme | Shailendra reviews implementation of HADP, CAPEX, CSSs | BJP Mahila Morcha’s role crucial in political landscape of J&K: Kavinder | Shekhawat, Jugal, Rana address election rally | Director General National Cadet Corps calls on Lt Governor | Secy MoHFW, Advisor Bhatnagar address NHMs' National Conference at Srinagar | Cop dies of cardiac arrest in Rajouri | Over 25K displaced KPs across India eligible to vote for Baramulla constituency | HC refuse to quash PSA of alleged Narco Smuggler | HC set-aside conviction in rape case | Power shut down in several areas | Two fake call centres busted in Punjab, 155 arrested | NIA charge sheets Mumbai man in Pak conspiracy to honey trap Indian Navy personnel | PM Jabs Cong, INDIA Bloc: Party aims just 50 seats to save 'Honour', alliance already defeated | Terrorism started to consume those who long practised it: Jaishankar | Kavinder to inaugurate commemorative recitation of Bhagavad Gita at Lal Chowk on June 23 to honor Dr Shyama Prasad Mukherjee | SC reserves verdict on Kejriwal's pea against arrest, allows him to move trial court for bail | "Exercise Extreme Caution": Centre's advisory on 'Fake Jobs' in Cambodia | Justice Tashi interacts with children on the ill effects of substance abuse | Five injured in bus-truck collision near Katra | Gaurav calls on LG Sinha, highlights transformative impact of Govt policies on lives of Valley residents | Absconder arrested in Doda | Interactive session on drug abuse, Cyber Crime Awareness conducted by J&K police | Udhampur police solves theft case, 2 accused arrested | Crackdown on illegal mining continue, police seizes 14 vehicles including excavator | Absconder arrested by Railway Police | Two bovine smuggling bids foiled, 12 bovines rescued, two vehicles seized | Cyber Cell solves online financial fraud | Cybercrime investigation unit refunds/liens defrauded amount | Joint Chief Electoral Officer, Ladakh, Sonam Chosjor launches voter awareness initiative for General Elections 2024 | Sunny and Renu Nanda Depart for International Raffa Championship in Algeria | DPS Jammu students bag 8 gold medals in UT level open Roller Skating Championship | The farewell party "Ruksati-2k24" hoisted at YCET | Journalism students participate in 4th phase of Yuva Sangam | Inter Zonal District Level Cricket Competition for U-14 boys commences in Jammu | 13 NCC Cadets of Dewan Devi Public School achieve top grades in 'A' certificate exam | Government Polytechnic Jammu celebrates World Telecommunication & Information Society Day | SMVDU engineering students gear up for SAE BAJA 2025 competition | Back Issues  
news details
Sreejesh, Savita, Harmanpreet in contention for multiple honours at Hockey India awards
3/26/2024 10:13:58 PM
NEW DELHI, Mar 26: Veteran goalkeepers P R Sreejesh and Savita Punia found themselves in contention for the 'Player of the Year' honours in the men's and women's category respectively as Hockey India unveiled nominees for its annual awards which will be presented here on March 31.
Sreejesh, a former captain, and Punia have been among the most consistent performers for India and have also been nominated for the goalkeeper of the year award.
India men's team captain and defender Harmanpreet Singh has also been shortlisted in two categories. He will be in contention for the player of the year as well as the defender of the year award.
The player of the year award in both categories comes with a prize of Rs 25 lakh each, while the goalkeeping trophy will fetch the winner Rs five lakh.
From eight different categories, a total of 32 nominations have made the shortlist for a total prize purse of Rs 7.56 crore, Hockey India said in a press release.
"Notably, the pinnacle of the event, the Hockey India Major Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award, will carry the most substantial cash purse of Rs 30 lakh, honouring an individual's extraordinary contributions to the sport over the years," the HI added.
The Jugraj Singh Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Men) and Asunta Lakra Award for Upcoming Player of the Year (Women), which are meant for Under-21 players, offers a cash prize of Rs 10 lakh each.
The Pargat Singh Award for Defender of the Year, Ajit Pal Singh Award for Midfielder of the Year, and Dhanraj Pillay Award for Forward of the Year come with a prize of Rs five lakh.
"Selecting the nominees proved to be a challenging task, given the outstanding performances showcased by both the men's and women's teams in recent times," said Hockey India President Dilip Kumar Tirkey.
"These awards serve as a testament to the dedication, talent, and passion that our athletes, coaches, umpires, and officials bring to the field day in and day out," added secretary general Bhola Nath Singh.
The Nominees for the Hockey India Annual Awards: Goalkeeper of the Year: Mohith HS, PR Sreejesh, Savita Punia, Krishan Bahadur Pathak Defender of the Year: Deep Grace Ekka, Amit Rohidas, Harmanpreet Singh, Udita Midfielder of the Year: Salima Tete, Hardik Singh, Manpreet Singh, Navneet Kaur Forward of the Year: Vandana Kataria, Abhishek, Sukhjeet Singh, Mandeep Singh Upcoming Player of the Year (Women - Under 21): Vaishnavi Viththal Phalke, Deepika, Deepika Soreng, Sunelita Toppo.
Upcoming Player of the Year (Men - Under 21): Uttam Singh, Amir AliVishnukant Singh, Araijeet Singh Hundal Player of The Year (Women): Savita Punia, Salima Tete, Vandana Kataria, Navneet Kaur.
Player of The Year (Men): P.R. Sreejesh, Abhishek, Hardik Singh, Harmanpreet Singh.
  Share This News with Your Friends on Social Network  
  Comment on this Story  
Early Times Android App
BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty
Home About Us Top Stories Local News National News Sports News Opinion Editorial ET Cetra Advertise with Us ET E-paper
J&K Govt. Official website
Jammu Kashmir Tourism
Mata Vaishnodevi Shrine Board
Shri Amarnath Ji Shrine Board
Shri Shiv Khori Shrine Board
Train Enquiry
Jammu Kashmir Bank
State Bank of India
Passport Department
Income Tax Department
IT Education
Web Site Design Services
Jammu University
Jammu University Results
Kashmir University
IGNOU Jammu Center