Like our Facebook Page

Early Times Newspaper Jammu, Leading Newspaper Jammu
Breaking News :   Governor blames everyone except corrupt officials around him? | Will Modi Govt withdraw security to separatists? | Killings of militants frustrates accomplices, desperate to derail election process | Not seen on ground, Omar Abdullah concerned on twitter | Inspectors hold Assistant Commissioners' offices | Curfew in Jammu city after protests over Pulwama attack, Army called out | Curfew extended for 72 hours | Home Minister Rajnath Singh sends strong message to separatists | Condemns violent incidents, appeals to maintain communal harmony | GCW Parade organizes One Day National Seminar | Withdraw security to Farooq, Omar, Mehbooba, abrogate Articles 35A, 370: Prof. Hari OM | Series of protests against Pulwama terror attack rocks Jammu | Awantipura attack on CRPF convoy | Pulwama Attack: Stand steadfast in support of the brave Indian soldiers | Let us be pro active and take some strict actions before we lose more lives | Security & intelligence laxity cost 40 CRPF lives | Jammu-Srinagar highway closed after fresh landslides | Won't forget, won't forgive': CRPF vows to avenge death of 49 bravehearts | J&K National Highway death Trap for security forces; 58 Jawans killed since 2013 | 80 kg high-grade RDX used by Jaish terrorist in Pulwama attack | Pulwama attack: Court of Inquiry ordered after number of deaths rises | Jammu University postpones all Exams scheduled on February 16 | NIA begins investigation, 7 detained after raids | Ensure enabling environment for all disabled persons in J&K: HC | Death toll in IED attack on CRPF reaches 49 | Pulwama attack: FIR against AMU student Basim Hilal for tweeting How's the Jaish | A strong policy for Kashmir should be priority of Government: ABVP | Suicidal attack on CRPF convoy evokes wide condemnation | DERS organises environment awareness prog | Guv addresses concerns of Kargil | Many youth join Aam Aadmi Party | Lecture on "Aadhunika Yug Mein Vedon ki Prasangikataa" organised | Financial literacy awareness programmes organised | Four-day Vice-Chancellors' meet on "Academic Leadership Training in Higher Education" concludes | Back Issues  
news details
With support of independents, Rajouri municipality to have Cong president
11/16/2018 10:02:10 PM
Early Times Report

Rajouri, Nov 16: Here at Rajouri Congress is all set to have its president for Municipality with the support of two independent candidates and in lieu the Congress will vote in their favour for the post of vice president for which the polling will be held on November 18.
The Congress has also faced tough time in deciding the name for the post of president as 4 candidates including Pushpinder Gupta, Rajesh Gupta, Mushtaq Ahmed and Iftkhar Ali Dar have put their claims for president ship.
According to internal sources in the meeting of senior Congress leaders chaired by former Health Minister Shabir Ahmed Khan after threadbare discussions it was decided to decide the name by taking out slips.
In the meeting it was also decided to give and take support from 2 independent candidates,
Internal source also claimed that 1 or 2 among other three candidates can only vote in favour of Iftkhar Ali Dar when they will get in writings from party that president will resign after one year tenure.
"The party may face humiliation during polling if we will not get in writing from the party for rotational president ship" said a candidate.
Three candidates have filed nominations for the post of MC president namely Iftkhar Dar (Congress), Arif Jat (Independent reportedly with support from BJP) and Rajinder Gupta (BJP) while for the post of vice president Sanjay Sharma (supported by Congress) and Bharat Bhusan Vaid , BJP have filed their nominations.
Rajouri Municipality have 17 wards constituencies out of which Congress emerged winner in 7, BJP in 6 and 4 independent candidates emerged winner in 4 constituencies.
BJP leaders tried their best to get support from 4 independent candidates but, according to reliable sources, they all including two each from both the communities refused to extend support to BJP.
It was also learnt that all the four independents have took oath to remain united but Congress leaders managed to get the support of needed two.
  Share This News with Your Friends on Social Network  
  Comment on this Story  
Early Times Android App
BSE Sensex
NSE Nifty
Home About Us Top Stories Local News National News Sports News Opinion Editorial ET Cetra Advertise with Us ET E-paper
J&K Govt. Official website
Jammu Kashmir Tourism
Mata Vaishnodevi Shrine Board
Shri Amarnath Ji Shrine Board
Shri Shiv Khori Shrine Board
Train Enquiry
Jammu Kashmir Bank
State Bank of India
Passport Department
Income Tax Department
IT Education
Web Site Design Services
Jammu University
Jammu University Results
Kashmir University
IGNOU Jammu Center